Blog by Pasricha & Patel, LLC

USCIS Updates the H-2A and H-2B Visa Programs Countries List

Categories: Attorneys , Business Immigration , Business Law , Citizenship , Commercial Litigation , Commercial Transactions , Corporate Law , Green Cards , Immigration Law , International Law , Investment Visas , Law Firm , Lawyers , Legal Services , Real Estate , Software Agreements , Technology Law , Trusts And Estates

Pasricha & Patel Takeaways:

USCIS and the Department of Homeland Security, and the Department of State have published its updated H-2A (temporary agricultural worker) and H-2B (temporary non-agricultural worker) countries list. The nationals from the list of countries are eligible to participate in the H-2A (temporary agricultural workers) and the H-2B (temporary non-agricultural workers) visa programs.

While the USCIS did add countries like Mozambique (H-2A and H-2B) and Somalia (also H-2A and H-2B), and Paraguay (H-2A) to the list of eligible nations, it is notable that the USCIS has removed the countries of Ethiopia, and the Philippines from both the H-2A and H-2B visa programs. It also removed the Dominican Republic from the H-2B visa program.

The USCIS does say that even if a country may not be on this list, it will consider the H-2A and/or H-2B visa petitions of the nationals of those non-listed countries on a case-by-case basis, and in accordance with U.S. national interests. But this also means those type of cases would have to survive greater scrutiny from the USCIS.

Please note that the H-2A and H-2B countries list is always being updated at any given time. Therefore, we encourage readers to visit our site regularly to keep up with any latest information and developments concerning immigration rules and regulations. And please do not hesitate to contact our office for formal consultation should you need further assistance.